terrain too slow?

hi folks

i got a terrain built up of apx. 30.000 triangles. it is implemented in delphi with a dyanmic array. when drawing all points i just get 14 fps on my geforce 2 gts.
now, i am new at 3D and you always read about 25 mio triangles and so per second. anybody an idea what i could do to improve, because if possible i would like to keep all the polygons. i also did a test with a displaylist, but no improvement here.

thanks for your help.
martin

ps: how many triangles do your scenes have at the most - during one rendercycle of course.

Use BSP, octree, PVS for only display the polys that are visible.

Thera are many methods for ameliorate the FPS.

well of course one could do a more complex algorithm. in my opinion 30.000 polys is not many. so why the hell is this thing so slow.
where is the upper limit of polys for a today graphics device - e.g. geforce 2 gts - within on rendercycle to still achieve at least 30 fps.

thanks for your help,
martin

Originally posted by Leyder Dylan:
Thera are many methods for ameliorate the FPS.

well, i assume so. can’t you be more specific?
you have to understand i am new to this topic.
when i got 14 fps and each frame renders 30.000 triangles. makes a total of 420.000 polys in all these frames. which is quite far from 20 mio triangles per second. so with all fault tolerance added, where the “hell” is the rest of my frames.

martin

Ok a quick question. When you draw the landscape do you translate the scene to the start point of the quad/triangle that is to be drawn, then translate back to the start point. If this is the case then get rid of it (This slows the fps down s%^t loads). Draw the quads/triangles using the vertex points. ie.

x[0] = (xsize);
x[1] = (x
size)+size;
y[0] = (ysize);
y[1] = (y
size)+size;

glVertex3f(x[0], y[0], data[(yxsize)+x]);
glVertex3f(x[1], y[0], data[(y
xsize)+(x+1)]);
glVertex3f(x[0], y[1], data[((y+1)*xsize)+x]);