lots of questions.....

glBegin ( GL_LOTS_OF_QUESTIONS );

I’m new to OpenGL programming and there are lots of things i don’t understand:

is it needed that every new frame be cleared and drawn from the beginning? (i’m still using GLUT :slight_smile:
why do i need GL_TRIANGLES for example, when i can use GL_POLYGON instead?

i’ve read some questions about walls or floors, how can such thing be made? (polygons and textures?)

are there any limits on the space… hmm… i mean how many objects (lines, points, polygons, etc.) can be placed and what’s the maximum distance from the view point?
when i draw a large scene do i have to draw all the objects, even those that are behind the view point? (hmmm… excuse my english :slight_smile:
and… in the examples i’ve read, coordinates are given in the range 0.0 - 1.0, i can’t understand the idea (i’ve worked with pixels so far :slight_smile:

there are more questions i have, but i think i can find their answers in the books…

glEnd ( GL_THANKS_IN_ADVANCE_: );

I’m new too, but with regards to:

“when i draw a large scene do i have to draw all the objects, even those that are behind the view point?”

If you can write a function to determine whether an object is in the viewport, then it’s easy enough to check first and only render it if so. The hard bit is writing the function.

yes, you have to clear every frame, and draw the next from scratch.

the reason you have GL_TRIANGLES and GL_QUADS is that you can draw multiple ones inside a single set of
glBegin();
glEnd();
if you supply 6 vertex points with GL_TRIANGLES it draws 2 useing the first 3, then the next 3, if you use GL_POLYGON it draws one ploy with 6 points.

Yes everything is done with polys, generally triangles, or Quads.

You can draw as many thinga as you want, your computer just might not be able to keep up, so you get less than 1 fps.

The far clip plane is supplied by you, its the last number in gluPerspective, that haw many units away you can see.