PDA

View Full Version : Dynamic clouds?



05-12-2001, 12:41 PM
Hello,
the etx_fog_coord helped a bit, i didnt make it work lol... http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/frown.gif Anyway, i must make a simple class that will make dynamic clouds. some cloud layers, moving in the sky.. they can be textures i think, but im noit very sure.. Any ideas???

iNsaNEiVaN
05-12-2001, 06:40 PM
i think u change the tex coords of the clouds little by little to make it look like its moving

05-13-2001, 02:20 AM
Yea, that would work. But just imagine, that if we have a very huge landscape, and put a quad patch over it at some height, with a texture, the fps will go all the way down, wont they?

dans
05-13-2001, 03:16 AM
youll be hit with the extra fill rate, which on some cards will cause a slow down..

you dont need to put sky geometry over the map. Do this..

glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
// draw small sky box/dome/cylinder or whatever
glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);

your skybox then has only to be big enough to fill the viewing area.