keep the same speed

Hi all!!

Im an opengl beginner, and i dont know how to keep the same speed of an opengl aplication/game.

I search a lot on internet about it, but i have not find the answer.

I have looked for “gluttimerfunc” and “timer” in opengl, i have found things, but only about to repeat something, not to control the speed of the game.

I want to control it because i want the same speed on all PCs, and i want the same speed in all game (not depending of the things i have loaded in the screen).

Sorry for my english, and thanks a lot !! :wink:

OpenGL is not for managing mouse/keyboard/timers etc. So you should probably search for solution for SDK of your platform.
If it’s Windows, then use QueryPerformanceCounter and QueryPerformanceFrequency.
Each frame you push physics/ai and all other updates forward by the amount of ime that have actually passed and render current state.
If you use GLUT, GLFW, SDL or other library then search for timer support in that library’s documentation. The better library you use, the better timer support it will probably have.

I use GLUT, beacause of that i have search about “gluttimerfunc”.

But i have not found an example or something using that function to keep the same global speed of the game.

mi-go,
Here is a code snippet using glutTimerFunc().

1. Register your timer callback function.
  2. Call glutPostRedisplay() inside your callback to draw the scene
// register glut callback functions
glutTimerFunc(33, timerCB, 33); // redraw every 33 millisec (30fps)

void timerCB(int millisec)
{
    glutTimerFunc(millisec, timerCB, millisec); // for next timer event
    glutPostRedisplay();
}

}