Draw a triangle and his borders too??

Hello, I am new to OpenGL and I’d like to draw triangles but also to draw their borders.

The standard way draws solid/plain triangles.
glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK,GL_LINE) draws triangles’ borders.

I would like both, is that possible? Thank you! :slight_smile:

you mean draw a triangle in both wire frame and solid? what’s stopping you?

Well I don’t know how

if I do for example

glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);				
		glVertex3f( 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f);		
		glVertex3f(-1.0f,-1.0f, 0.0f);		
		glVertex3f( 1.0f,-1.0f, 0.0f);		
glEnd();	

This will do solid triangles

And

glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK,GL_LINE)
glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);				
		glVertex3f( 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f);		
		glVertex3f(-1.0f,-1.0f, 0.0f);		
		glVertex3f( 1.0f,-1.0f, 0.0f);		
glEnd();

This will do wire frame

But how can I do wireframe and solid at the same time? Do I have to draw them separatly?

it would help if you could detail what effect you’re after. if this is some sort of selection outline for a solid in an editor, i’ve never really come up with anything satisfactory. i’ve played with stippled lines, texmapped lines, plain old lines, wireframe solid lines, green eggs and lines… nothing quite suits me. i like the texmapped lines the best, i think, for selection anyway.

You should be able to do both, just draw with one mode then with the other.

// Filled
glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_FILL)
glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);
glVertex…
glEnd();

// Wireframe
glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_LINE)
glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES);
glVertex…
glEnd();

I will post a screenshot of what I’m looking for tomorrow morning (don’t have the models here)

I tried this and it’s nearly what I’m looking for. My problem is that the lines lack width and they look stippled

I use glPolygonMode(GL_FRONT_AND_BACK, GL_FILL) for the solid ones, and GL_LINE for the wire frame.