Any suggestions on learning openGL? -- Chinese Adun

Since I am a Chinese student with poor English, I can not fully understand the books written in English. And we have different way of thinking about and resolving problem. This is not my fault, 'cause computer was born in America.
Hohoho…so I’ll be glad to get some suggestions from you!!!
And please reply my topic more, which will surely be helpful to my English.THANKS!!!

Sooo, … you want us to give you some recommandation for some book written in Chinese? I’m afraid your only hope is to learn English. You’ll catch up quickly.

The reference openGL book is the “OpenGL Programming Guide, 3rd edition”, by Mason Woo. The red book. It’s got some simple sample code, and covers all the opengl functionalities, minus the extensions. It’s a bit dry, quite academical sometimes.

a book that is well rated is OpenGL Game Programming, by Kevin Hawkins, Dave Astle.

Another reference book is “Computer Graphics: Principles and Practice”, by James D. Foley, Andries Van Dam, John Hughes, Feiner. This is more a behind the scene kind of book, ut a must have.

They are maybe quite difficult to grasp. but about learning English, you’re gonna have to do it sooner or later, so why not sooner?

Thank you first for your suggestion and the
book names you’ve referred.
I am trying my best to improve my English
and game programming.
By the way, I am a good starcraft player and
I admire Blizzard very much!!

Maybe the reason Electronic Computer’s where built in America is becuase of our diffrent way of thinking!!!

And to program you will have to change how you think, since computers do things sometimes that is not how you think they should be done.

But their are many Chinese who program with openGL and there maybe a sites with some tutors on openGL in Chinese.

Try a google search, maybe can find a Chinese college, that has some computer courses posted on the web for openGL.

Originally posted by adun: