howto: Off-screen rendering(not using or showing a window)

hi all. without making this post too too long i will try to explain what i am trying to do.

i am writing software for a professional camera and need to be able to manipulate the images(such as copy, scale and crop) it sends back without having(or using) a windowing context in OpenGL.

i am by no means an opengl expert so i will definitely need help with at least some code to start(maybe theres not that much) or at least my alternatives.

i would rather not use pbuffers as these are platform dependent and while i could use tests for each OS figuring out which type of system pbuffer to use i would rather use something this is both hardware accelerated and cross-platform as long as you have a compatible OpenGL video card.

basically i have 2 cameras. i have separate code for both cameras that retrieve images from each camera. the camera returns an image it takes in a byte array that i can retrieve from my class that i have written.

i would like to take both images and overlay one on top of the other, with the top image being transparent, to combine one image from the two. after this is complete i want to be able to write the image out to a .png file.

writing out the .png file is done as i am just using libpng to write it out. no problem. my problem is is that i don’t or have no need to use a windowing context of any form.

i want to be able to using OpenGL calls to combine the images like i said into one image with the top image containing transparency.

the options that i know of right now is the GL_EXT_framebuffer_object but as i type this am not totally 100% knowledgable on it and still really dont have any idea of how to create a windowing/render context without showing a window.

After reading the GL_EXT_framebuffer_object definition it seems like “framebuffer-attachable images” (2D arrays of pixels that can be attached to a framebuffer) is what i need, though i could be just grabbing straws here.