Simple Explanation of Projection Transformation

I have noticed many newbies to OPENGL are struggling to understand Projection. I am a beginner myself. I also struggled to understand GL_PROJECTION concept. I wrote a small program that only
rendered a small triangle. For few days, I could not render anything. After researching and playing with the coordinates and matrices, finally I could render. I really think that there is hardly any resource that does a good job explaining this concept without making things complicated. So I am going to share what I understood, hoping to help those who are confused with projection.

I will try to explain with an example - my triangle program. First of all, Projection transformation is basically an attempt to convert the object coordinates into a viewing volume called frustum. This volume is conical instead of orthographic so that it bring out the concept of near and far in 3D world. As the object is far away from viewer, it tends to get smaller.

x,y,z axis sits in the center of monitor, x is positive on right, y is positive on top and z is positive towards you. So the coordinates where x, y and z axis intersect are 0,0 and 0. My understanding is 0,0,0 can be moved from center of screen to elsewhere by using GluLookat function.

Lets look at my triangle program.
// Called to draw scene
void RenderScene(void)
{
// Clear the window with current clearing color
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
//Set drawing color to black
glColor3f( 0.0,0.0, 0.0 );
glBegin( GL_TRIANGLES );
glVertex3f(0.0f, 0.0f, 60.0f);
glVertex3f(-15.0f, 0.0f, 30.0f);
glVertex3f(15.0f,10.0f,30.0f);
glEnd();
glFlush();
glutSwapBuffers();
}

// Setup the rendering state
void SetupRC(void)
{
// Set clear color to white
glClearColor(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f);
}
void ChangeSize(int w, int h)
{
glViewport(0, 0, w, h);
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
gluPerspective(90.0, 1024.0/768.0, 1.0, 100.0);
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();