A quick question in animation using openGL

Alright… I converted a model into raw numbers (heh… its all layed out correctly… in fact I can display the model just fine), containing all of the information on it (colors, textures, vertex locations…etc).

The real question is, wouldn’t an animation of a model say… containing 100 frames or so… use a LOT of lines? I mean, the single frame of my model takes up 600 lines by itself. However, I am new to C++ and OpenGL/GLUT programming, and maybe 600 lines isnt a lot.

Eh anyways, not to get off track, if I develope my own file format for the model file, and store all of the model/animation info in there, would I be able to call that file from another program?

EX: I have my model file… we will call it ‘model.wth’… In this file, I have a separate display list for each animation “phase.” (ie Idle, walk, jump, etc). In the ‘other program,’ would I be able to reference model.wth and call a display list from it just as if it had been in the ‘other program’ source?

Or should I try to think of a more efficiente way of animating it in OpenGL?

there are a few basic ways to do character animation…

Going from the easiest to impliment up to the best looking…

No1. Swap The Models

load up each frame of each animation cycle and swap the models each time you get to the next keyframe. The problem with this is that it is inefficient to store 100+ copies of the same data in different locations. It will also give very jerky animation (only swapping models…)

If you think about it though (presuming you dont use display lists for animating objects - YOU SHOULDN’T BE!!!) the only thing that changes between poses is the vertex and normal data. For each keyframe, load up only vertices and normals, You can then simply replace the data in your model with these positions…

No2. Shape interpolation (blendshaping or morphing )