View Full Version : OGL in hardware

05-12-2003, 10:01 PM
Is there some "extra" initialization neccesary if I want my OGL app work in hardware, or is OGL using it automatically?


05-12-2003, 10:41 PM
You just install the drivers for your hardware and everything should be set to go.

You do not need to do anything special to use the hardware, the only thing that might happen is that you try to setup a rendering context with options not supported by hardware and in that case the driver will fall back to software rendering.

use glGetString( GL_VENDOR) to get information about which driver is in use (after context is setup).


05-13-2003, 12:18 AM
And those options which are supported by hardware I can get by somehow querying OGL? Or this information I need to obtain from card manufacturer?

05-13-2003, 12:40 AM
Look closely at the DescribePixelFormat specification.. there you have all info about how you get all different pixelformats, with features, and which mode are accelerated or not