glUnProject??

Hi!
I’m new in OpenGL.
I badly need some easy code of using glUnproject. How does it work ? How to make button in openGL using glUnproject? Is there any better way to make interface or button in opebGL?
Please please help me

GLint Viewport[4];

GLdouble ModelMatrix[16];
GLdouble ProjMatrix[16];
float z1;
double winX = 10;
double winY = 10;
double newX;
double newY;
double newZ;

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glPushMatrix();
glLoadIdentity();
glGetDoublev(GL_MODELVIEW_MATRIX,ModelMatrix);
glGetDoublev(GL_PROJECTION_MATRIX,ProjMatrix);
glGetIntegerv(GL_VIEWPORT,Viewport);
glReadPixels(0, 0, 1, 1, GL_DEPTH_COMPONENT, GL_FLOAT, &z1);
gluUnProject(winX,winY,z1,ModelMatrix,ProjMatrix,Viewport,&newX,&newY,&newZ);
glPopMatrix();

[This message has been edited by no-one (edited 07-11-2002).]

Mishuk,

If you are looking for ways to create a 2D GUI ‘on top’ of your 3D drawings, don’t use gluUnproject, but setup a glOrtho projection after drawing the 3D stuff and render in 2D (possibly without depth-writing & testing to prevent 3D geometry obscuring the GUI).

HTH

Jean-Marc.

To design 2D GUI how to implement it without
glUnProject? Can you give me some hints?

something like this?

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glPushMatrix();
glLoadIdentity();
glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
// set the top left to 0,0 and the bottom right to 800 by 600
glOrtho(0,800,600,0,1.0,-1.0);

DrawGuiStuff();

glPopMatrix();
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);

[This message has been edited by no-one (edited 07-14-2002).]

Thank you.
But in this case how can i implement mouse coordinate to associate with the GUI without glUnProject? Is it possible to implement it without glUnProject?

Moreover i saw some code about Selection and picking. Is is usual technique to make GUI?

thanks

>Is it possible to implement it without glUnProject?