3D modeling application

i am a final year student making a 3d modeling application using opengl and C++… i am very very new to opengl and frankly, i’m not sure how to start.

is there any tutorials on how to create an application like this??

anyway, what i’m trying to do so far is to setup opengl with mfc on my visual c++… and i want to divide the screen into 4 viewports… how can i do this?

thanks very much to any help/replies.

The tutorials at NeHe are a good place to start:

http://nehe.gamedev.net/

i’ve been to nehe and tried alot of the basic tutorials… but i’m looking for more specific tutorials relevant to developing a 3d modeling application… anyone can help?

Please be a little more specific…what are your questions?

Dividing the screen into several viewports is really simple:

glViewport(x1, y1, w1, h1);
setup_projection(w1, h1);
setup_view1();
draw_scene();
glViewport(x2, y2, w2, h2);
setup_projection(w2, h2);
setup_view2();
draw_scene();

x1, y1, w1, h1 are the position and size of the viewports, the setup_projection function is like the reshape functions in most tutorials (setting up projection), the setup_view?() functions sets the camera position…

I think you can guess what draw_scene() does :wink: .

This way you can easily draw the scene from multiple perspectives like in most 3d modeling applications…

Another way would be to really create 4 windows with seperate rendering contexts attached to them. Perhaps someone else will be more qualified to tell you how this is done with MFC, as I’m mainly a Linux developer…

Hi, I’m a french computer science student. My final project was to do the same project as you, with the same language. If you want, I can help you.

If you have some question :
jf.lequeux@wanadoo.fr

How to create a OpenGL application is very simple : you can copy Nehe’s source code.