"cropping" 2d texture

Hi all,
I’m a beginner in OpenGL and I’m using it to display 2d image from a camera.
I created a tecture 2d with the size power of 2 so it’s always bigger than my buffer that is 384x288.
When drawing I’d like to see only the image from the camera but I get all the texture.
How can I “crop” it to see only the portion of interest?

Thanks in advance

On creation:

glTexImage2D(GL_TEXTURE_2D, 0, 3, texture_width, texture_height, 0, GL_RGB, GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, data);

On Resize event:

glViewport(0, 0, w, h);
glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION); glLoadIdentity();
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW); glLoadIdentity();

On Paint event:
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | L_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);
glLoadIdentity();

glTranslatef(0, 0,-1);

// flip
glScalef (1.0, -1.0, 1.0);

glTexSubImage2D( GL_TEXTURE_2D, // target
0, // level
0, // x offset
0, // y offset
width, // width
height, // height
GL_RGB, // format
GL_UNSIGNED_BYTE, // type
data ); // *pixels

You have to reduce the texture coordinates. The range [0.0, 1.0] always gives the whole texture.

I assume the texture size is 512, the image you want to display is 384 pixels wide and it starts at pixel 0. Then you have to use texture coordinates from 0 to 384/512.

The same goes for the y coordinate…

thanks,
but I didn’t understand where to put 384/512, on resizing (in glViewPort) or when viewing(glScalef?)?
thanks again

While drawing. too bad it is the only chunk of code don’t show :wink:

In fact you can do it everywher you want, just I think while drawing is the best design.

384.0/512 should be put in the glTexCoord call, for each vertice forming the quad, like (untested) :

float s = 384.0f / 512.0f ;
float t = 288.0f / 512.0f ;

glBegin(GL_QUADS);

glTexCoord2f(0,0);
  glVertex2f(0,0);

glTexCoord2f(s,0);
  glVertex2f(1,0);

glTexCoord2f(s,t);
  glVertex2f(1,1);

glTexCoord2f(0,t);
  glVertex2f(0,1);
glEnd();

Of course, you could also put it into a glScale on the texture matrix.