Basic OPenGL Question, easy for you pros

Hey guys, I’m hoping you can give me a bit of help.

This is my first time using OpenGL, and I’m not even a great programmer, so please bear with my simple problem.

I have a 101x101 integer matrix, which I want to convert to a simple image. Each matrix element should translate to one pixel in the image…its color dependant on the integer value. Make sense?

I figure this is pretty much basic, but I’m not sure how to start on it. I’m using win2k, and a lot of custom (C++) libraries already. Please let me know what I need, and the best way to start off.

Thanks!

I don’t know if opengl is what you want. OpenGL is a 3D api and while you can certainly do what you want using glDrawPixels, if you know nothing at all about OpenGL its won’t be worth the effort of setting up a window. If you want to learn OpenGL check out nehe.gamedev.net, that will get you started

When you say image, you mean an image for a texture or write directly to the screen?

OpenGL just one thing to remember, openGL is made for 3D graphics rendering, not direct pixel drawing to the screen. You can draw directly to the screen but at a loss of speed.

You can get better preformance if you create your matrix image as a texture and map it to a quad. nehe.gamedev.net has good tutors on that.

Another option would be to draw in ortho mode, and use something like GL_POINT.

draw code would look something like this

int x,y;

for(y = 0; y < 101; y++)
{
for(x = 0; x < 101; x++)
{

glBegin(GL_POINT);
glColor3i( int Red, int Blue, int Green); // You need to have your matrix data convert to RGB color data.

glVertex2i( x, y);
glEnd();
}
}

Please ignore what nexusone said.

OpenGL is not a 3D library. It is a graphics library: “OpenGL is the premier environment for developing portable, interactive 2D and 3D graphics applications.” If it was only for 3D it would be named something like “Direct3D”.

There are two general paths to do what you want: