PDA

View Full Version : Mesh animation: update normals each frame?



Anonymous Coward
12-12-2000, 10:18 AM
Im importing some animations from 3DSMAX and noticed some wierd things:

I exported a mesh from 3DSMAX to my viewer. I rotated it 360 (glRotatef) and there was no problem. Then I tried exporting a rotating mesh (the animation was done in 3DSMAX) and noticed the back of the model was dark.

Do you know why? Should I calculate all normals each frame (or use a table for each frame)?

C ya!

kacke
12-12-2000, 11:36 AM
I don't know the answer of your question, but I've been looking for a code to load 3ds animation. Maybe you want to share yours with me?

Rob The Bloke
12-12-2000, 08:11 PM
If your mesh is deforming then calculate the new normals. Otherwise there shouldn't be a problem.