Changing from Ortho to Perspective, help!

Hi people,

I’m totally new to OpenGL, and am confused about how to do perspective. Right now I have a module that draws texture mapped squares using Ortho projection:

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
glOrtho(0.0, xBound, 0.0, yBound, -1.0, 1.0);

But now I need to combine my stuff with another person’s, who is using the perspective projection for her drawings:

glLoadIdentity();
gluPerspective(60.0,(GLfloat)w/(GLfloat)h,1.0,60.0) ;
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW) ;
glLoadIdentity();
gluLookAt(0.0,0.0,25.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0,1.0,0.0) ;

When I used her setting, I just get a black screen. And also even if I can experiment around with x and ys, I also need to detect mouse clicks, which don’t work anymore.

Could somebody help me?
Thanks a lot!

I have a slight feeling you might be looking in the wrong direction ( try looking towards -ve Z).

Also, what are the Z co-ordinates of the objects you are drawing? If they are less than 1.0, they will be clipped by the front plane. Try placing your initial camera position (look-at point) right in front of one of your objects (same x and y) and slightly back from it (-z).

Come and tell us the results!

Thanks a lot for your advise!
So now I have everything working with the following setting:

glViewport(0, 0, (GLsizei)w, (GLsizei)h);
glLoadIdentity();
//glFrustum(-xBound, xBound, -yBound, yBound, 2.0, 60.0);
double fovy = (atan(yBound / 2.0)) * 360.0 / 3.1415926;
gluPerspective(fovy, w/h, 2.0, 60.0);

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW) ;
glLoadIdentity() ;
gluLookAt(0.0, 0.0, 2.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0);

The commented out glFrustrum works the same as the gluPerspective. Seems like what I specify for near and far doesn’t matter as long as the eyez for gluLookAt is set to be the same as near.