Testing for Mouse Clicks

I am trying to make a game with OpenGL in Windows. I need to know how to test for mouse clicks. I’ve spent hours going through header files and web pages already. Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated.

-Cat Slacker

You program win32 api? Then put your code into the WM_*BUTTONDOWN messages… GLUT suckz!!!

I am a newbie to OpenGL. I learned OpenGL from the tutorials on NeHe.gamedev.net. My knowledge is very limited. I don’t know what Win32 API is. I just was wondering if anyone could tell me if there was a function call that tests for a left mouse click.

Okay nehe win32.
There’s a function with a WNDPROC inside it and a huge switch-case statement.

Put a

case WM_LBUTTONDOWN:

there

That will test wether the user clicked the left mouse button down.

I understand what you just said, but I’m not sure it can help me the way I want it to. I’m making an X-Wing fighter game. I put in the mouse coding from Lesson 23 from NeHe’s site, and that works just fine. I can test for the x and y positions of the mouse. What I want to do is make a opening screen for my game. It’ll have a new game section, high score, and exit buttons. I want to put a big if statement that tests if the mouse’s x and y positions are in the corners of a button and if there is a left mouse click. If there is, it’ll start a new game. Sounds simple, but I have no idea how to test for the mouse click. I wanted to use the keys array of keyboard buttons, but that’s for the keyboard. I did find a MOUSEEVENTF_LEFTDOWN in Winuser.h, but I don’t know how to use that. Hope that clarifies what I’m looking for.

Why can’t you use that WM_LBUTTONDOWN in your code?

never mind, I think I know how to use that now. I’ll just make a bool veriable that I’ll set to true in the case, for the mouse down, and I’ll use another case WM_LBUTTONUP to set that variable to false. Then I’ll use that bool variable in my if statements. Is that what I want to do??