Stars

I am trying to create a space scene (planets, stars… etc), everything is great except the stars, I can’t seem to get the right visuals (like the ones you see in space simulators). I tried a texture mapped sphere, looked horrible. tried a list (or array) of small bitmapped squares, No luck, can’t even see them. I’m new to openGL so this alone might be the problem.

Does anyone know of a good tutorial on the subject or maybe some source code I can learn from. Any help is appreciated, thanks

Probably I shouldn’t post an answer, because I don’t know resources. But, if you search the web for “skybox” or something similar, you’ll most probably get a tutorial for that technique.
A Skybox is simply a box, textured with 6 textures, that are somehow wrapped to make the impression of a real 360 degrees panorama.

I’ve had the same problem. I tried doing a “skydome” thing with a low-resolution gluSphere but mine looked like crap too. Even when I used REALLY high-res texutres (1024x1024) and each star was just one to four pixels in size. So I know what you mean. I guess you’d have to do a “skybox” thing and then tile your textures on each side of the cube.

maybe use inward-facing, blended, textured quads? you could make them neat shapes, that way. and making stars bigger than one another would be easy, too. you could use an oop approach as well, and then dump all the stars into a display list and forget about them.

what doesn’t go right when using the texture map? too blurry or what?

What about using billboarded squares with a texturemap of a star on it?

Kiyoshi