View Full Version : moving the display lists

05-14-2001, 05:24 AM

I am new one in the world of opengl, and have a problem that needs urgent sollution http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif.

My question concerns translating and rotating the display lists. I've created a list (1), and I openned one GLX window to render it. I did menage to see rendered display list in that window. But, I cannot move it. I used standard "gltranslatef" and "glrotatef" commands. I cannot see the process of moving, but just the final result. And one thing more. I have the trail, that means that GL draws the display list whenever I call it with "glcalllist". Is there any chance to avoid these problems? How can I manage the speed of moving the diplay lists? Can I work with display list without calling them again and again? Actually, I have simple model that is represented with a couple of independent display list. I have to move some of them in order to simulate the simple procces. Can you give me some simple example, or some internet address for solving this problem?


05-14-2001, 05:35 AM
Exactly as you describe, the display list work. If you rotate or translate into the display list only the final result is viewed.
The display list store only a set of vertexs (probably triangles, I guess) after apply all transformations.

But you can make transformation call glRotate* or glTranslate* before glCallList. You use list for performance, not for flexibility

[This message has been edited by Boresight (edited 05-14-2001).]

05-14-2001, 11:38 AM
Remember, OpenGL doesn't deal with animations, only the current frame. If you want to see the object actually move to another point in a given amount of time, you will have to make it do so yourself by incrementally translating and rotating it in each frame.

05-14-2001, 02:19 PM
Thanks for comments...
But, can you give me a couple of lines of the simplest code for doing some elementar moving... rotating or translating?