position of camera?

Hi, Guys,

I am a beginner. My question is how can
I get the world coordinate of camera? Thanks
for help.

Andy

The camera’s origin is 0,0,0; in openGL you move the world around the camera, which tends to confuse some people at first.

gluLookAt or just using glTranslate/glRotate you can change where the world space is relative to the camera.

gluLookAt(…);
// Draw your world

note: you can not use things like loadidentity after you set your camera position, since it clears your camera location back to 0,0,0.

Originally posted by andy_andy:
[b]Hi, Guys,

I am a beginner. My question is how can
I get the world coordinate of camera? Thanks
for help.

Andy[/b]

Thanks.

Originally posted by nexusone:
[b]The camera’s origin is 0,0,0; in openGL you move the world around the camera, which tends to confuse some people at first.

gluLookAt or just using glTranslate/glRotate you can change where the world space is relative to the camera.

gluLookAt(…);
// Draw your world

note: you can not use things like loadidentity after you set your camera position, since it clears your camera location back to 0,0,0.

[/b]

By the way, in your note, you wrote you can
not use things like loadidentity after you
set your camera position. Since camera is
always at 0,0,0, how can you set the
position of the camera? Thanks.

If I move a camera forward, this means
the world goes towards camera and camera
stays. How can I get the new coordinates of
all components in the world? Thanks.

Andy

Originally posted by nexusone:
[b]The camera’s origin is 0,0,0; in openGL you move the world around the camera, which tends to confuse some people at first.

gluLookAt(…);
// Draw your world

[/b]

Hi, nexusone,

Can you tell me how to compute the relative coordinates of camera to the world?
Thanks.

Andy

[b]By the way, in your note, you wrote you can
not use things like loadidentity after you
set your camera position. Since camera is
always at 0,0,0, how can you set the