Should i use GLUT?

I have been following NEHE tutorials but he uses this glaux.dll which i cant use because i have dev c++ which uses mingw compiler. I have also read it is obselete. Because i am just starting out i am confused as to what sdk’s i should have. All these different wrapper api’s are doing my head in. Just understanding how to open window under win32 is a nightmare! Can someone point me in the right direction and get me started properly BTW i dont want to download 130mb dx sdk

Yes you should use GLUT for the following reason’s.

1. I don’t think there is a compiler that does not have lib support for it.
  2. It is supported by multiple platforms, Windows, Linux, Mac.
  3. Makes creating windows easy.
  4. nehe also has glut versions of most of his examples.

An example of opening a OpenGL window with glut. This little bit of program will open a window using glut library. Use the [ESC] key to exit.

#include <GL/glut.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

void keyboard (unsigned char key, int x, int y)
{
switch (key) {
case 27:
exit(0);
break;
default:
break;
}

}

void reshape (int w, int h)
{
// Window size has changed stuff goes here.
glViewport (0, 0, (GLsizei) w, (GLsizei) h);
glMatrixMode (GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity ();
}

void display(void)
{

//GL drawing stuff here.

}

int main(int argc, char** argv)
{
glutInit(&argc, argv);
glutInitDisplayMode (GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_RGB);
glutInitWindowSize (500, 500);
glutInitWindowPosition (100, 100);
glutCreateWindow (argv[0]);
glutSetWindowTitle(“Glut window”);
glutDisplayFunc(display);
glutReshapeFunc(reshape);
glutKeyboardFunc(keyboard);
glutMainLoop();
return 0;
}

Originally posted by Cipher: