OT: How do I become a hardware expert/geek?

This may sound strange, but Im actually asking this because Im a programmer. I can program using a lot of programming languages and libraries (OpenGL, DirectX, etc) but I know Im an illiterate about how graphic cards, hardware in general works. For example, I have managed to program some little demos and games using OpenGL, but I get lost when I try pixel shaders and the like. Maybe my lack of assembler programming knowledge is not helping, but I really want to understand how a graphic card/CPU/hardware/etc works. What do you recommend me, should I start programming using assembler? Maybe some books?
Thx in advance for your help!!!

How do you become an expert? erm, not by posting such questions in here! If you want to learn then go ahead and do so - But don’t expect all your question’s to be answered. You are on your own now pal, GOOD LUCK!

I asked a question about GetAsyncKeyState vs DirectInput - I’m still none the wiser …

Perhaps looking into video drivers might help? I mean, there’s your hardware/software interface.

Also taking a peek at the mesa sources might be enlightening. http://mesa3d.sourceforge.net/

Then there’s sgi’s open source opengl sample implementation to look at: http://oss.sgi.com/projects/ogl-sample/

You will not become an expert by reading the replies to this qustion but you could be pointed to some good resourses. there are some good texts out there, read up on Boolean algebra and discrete math in general. “Discrete Mathemetics and its applications” by Kenneth h. Rosen is a good intro text. it dose not have much about HW it self but it is a good start… I have seen several good books that are more spicific to the qustiuon asked.

Disclamer, I am by on means an experet but I have had a few Electral Computer Enger class

1. Never buy a complete pc, but buy components, build your pc out of them and fix all problems you get without a hotline.