I hate trying to program windows, but will I have to?

I’ll open up a tutorial, and see stuff like hgWnd, clip_children, messagebox; its all for Windows! I know I know, windows is cool, but I hate having to program it!
I am an experienced C/C++/PHP programmer who is just, JUST starting to learn openGL, and I’m wondering what path I should take. First of all, is oGL platform-dependant? If not, then what would be the best language to program it in. Second, do you believe that the future of 3D gaming will still rely heavily on Windows? And third, If I am looking to become pro, as in, I WILL become a 3D game programmer, do I have to learn Windows programming, or is there a way to get around that?

~Jesse

PS
I guess my real question is to all those experts out there who have been prorgamming since they were my age: To become a successful 3D game programmer, I’ll end up having to learn Windows programming, won’t I…=(

PSS THANK YOU TO ANYONE who will take their time and reply… Your help is very, very appreciated!

You can use GLUT for portability. There are many other options as well, but GLUT is the most widely used. GLUT is also great for learning OpenGL. However, GLUT may not be enough for a cutting edge real-time 3D game (and isn’t used in any AFAIK).

The future of 3D gaming will be on Windows, because that’s the platform that the majority of gamers run on and you can’t change that. Also, OpenGL is a good graphics library, but it’s quite low-level and doesn’t handle input or sound so a lot of people here use DirectInput and DirectSound for that. You could look into SDL or OpenML as alternatives to DirectX that will run on Unices.