Fillrate Question

Hi there,

I’m quite new to OpenGL and 3D Programming and can’t explain what I lately discovered:

I set a 512x512 Texture and render about 10k triangles using this texture. Rendering is done with vertex arrays and multiple calls to flDrawElements. Each of that calls renders 8 triangles.

It’ seems that fillrate on my GeForce 2 is the limeting factor. When I use a smaller texture (64*64) frame rates double from 50 fps to 100 fps. How can this be explained ?

I thought it doesn’t matter what size a texture has as long as it fits into texture memory ? Is cache usage with a smaller texture so much better ?

Please give me a hint :slight_smile:

Yes.

Just a guess. Since OpenGL has to map texels to pixels, mapping more texels should take more time. Hence larger textures should be slower. Of course I’m no expert and could be wrong.

I thought things would function like this: OpenGL tries to find the right color for every pixel on screen by looking up the nearest texels an doing so filtering afterwards. It shouldn’t matter wether 4 texels (in case of bilinear filtering) are looked up in a smaller texture or in a bigger one.

[This message has been edited by muhkuh (edited 04-25-2002).]

If you specify GL_LINEAR, OpenGL must pick up all texels that map to the pixel. In the case of a larger texture you might get 2 - 4 times more texels mapping to 1 pixel, hence more work. Thus larger textures should be slower.

If you specify GL_NEAREST it should pick up only the texel closest to the the pixel. If it grabs the first texel it finds then I guess it should not matter. If it searches all texels that map to the pixels centre or something then its going to be slower for larger textures as it will have to search more texels per pixel. Check the specs to see which it is.

it always takes more time to find a pixel in a big texture, thats why we have mipmaps, then the gfxchip can select the right size of the image before looking up the pixels.