Help me pick out a video card to buy

I’ve been looking at the video cards for a while and decided to buy a new one… now I am just a student so not a lot of cash… Geforce2 MX looks pretty good, the problem is I would like a TV-out also (So I can watch DVDs on my TV). I love my video games, and am getting into the GL thing, so the new NV extensions are important (too bad for ATI, I wish so many developers wouldn’t write Geforce only stuff… Tim S. ahem). Anyway, do you guys recommend a card that’s not too heavy on the wallet?

How about a geforce 2 GTS?
I know for a fact that some of them come with TV outs. Pretty fast too.

I’ve actually been looking at the ATI Radeon VE with dual monitor. TV-Out, 2 monitor outs, DVD support, DDR. All for about $150 (cdn, less in the States). I know I’ll be missing a few good extensions, and that the hardware T&L is ripped out, but I’m starting to think the performance hit might be worth the features.
Joe

Go for something with HW T&L, the GeForce 2 MX is cheap and has excellent T&L performance. You can also get a Radeon at very good prices these days. If you’ve got a bigger budget go for a GTS.

well… right now I am going towards the Radeon DDR, hear it’s got good DVD assist, whatever that means, a TV out and it’s cheap. MX is good too, but no TV-out. GTS… just a tiny bit over the price range. But, before I make up my mind for real. How many T&L apps are out there? does OpenGL automatically take advantage of it? how much more framerate do I get? How many people will probably write Geforce specific or enhanced games?

Just a note about Radeon, the Radeon VE is crap, and it mainly only for 2d use. They crippled the 3D too much. The radeon LE is a cheaper Radeon, with hyperz, and clocked slower. The Radeon SDR is ok, but slow. The Radeon DDR is ok, but with ALL the radeons, the biggest problem is the drivers. They just haven’t been able to produce a solid driver. This is especially true in win2k!