Sharing some knowledge

Greetings everyone,

I have found this forum very helpful many times in finding answers regarding several graphics projects. This being my first post on this forum, I first wanted to say thanks to all the people that are helpful and give decent answers (well… at least most of the time).

As a student I have been working on a project benchmarking several new possibilities of GPUs, e.g. vertex texturing vs normal texturing, data-dependent flow-control statements vs hard-coded flow-control statements, etc (my first experience with GPU programming). I’m not very fond of the thought that my work is only read and (hopefully) used by my teacher, so I also wanted it to share with you people:

http://bars.rug.nl/download/bd7f8c15d967b0f4

All comments and advice is welcome, though I can’t promise to process them all.

Besides these benchmarks, I also wrote a paper regarding the architecture of graphics cards. This paper covers topics as the 3D-graphics pipeline, texture mapping (bilinear, trilinear, anisotropic filtering, etc), antialiasing (super- and multi-sampling), PCI Express, Multi-GPU, etc. For some (perhaps most) of you, this is rather familiar, but browsing this forum I often encountered questions that were related to this. So, if someone wants to have it, just give a yell and I’ll post a link to this paper as well.

Hi Bart and thanks for the paper - nice reading. I just wanted to ask if you have done some benchmarking on vertex texture fetch using other texture formats than GL_LUMINANCE_FLOAT_32 and GL_RGBA_FLOAT_32 on the 8800 GTX?

kind regards,
Nicolai de Haan Brøgger

I would have liked to see alpha testing in the “Rejecting fragments” section.
(It has always been some question if alpha testing is faster than discard)