problems with z axis!!

I just started learning open gl. I 've a big probleme concerning the 3d rendering. When i draw some points in my window like this:
glBegin(GL_POINTS)
GlVertex3f(10.0f,10.0f,0.0f)
glEnd()
there are any problems, whereas when I include a value to the z coordinate, my points are invisible. I got the same problems when I do “auxWireTeapot”, I can just see the shape but not in 3d…
thanks for your help and excuse my english!!

mail me: yanntraveling@yahoo.fr

Are you setting up a 3d viewing volume? It sounds like you are using Ortho2d for the scene. If you are using a viewing volume, check your near and far clipping planes to be sure that you aren’t clipping +1 and -1 z.

Just my 2 cents.

Glossifah

thanks for helping me !!!

I’m sure that I did a viewing volume. Each time I change the z coordinate (z!=0) the vertex don’t appear: look at my listing:

void ChangeSize(GLsizei w,GLsizei h)
{

GLfloat nRange=500.0f;
if (h==0)
	h==1;
glViewport(0,0,w,h);
	glColor3f(1.0f,0.0f,0.0f);

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();
if (w<= h)
	glOrtho(-nRange,nRange, -nRange*h/w, nRange*h/w, -nRange,nRange);
else
	glOrtho(-nRange*w/h,nRange*w/h, -nRange, nRange, -nRange,nRange);

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();

}

Can you post the code in it’s entirety, or post a link to the code? I’ll fiddle with it and see what I can see.

Glossifah

Frog,

Sorry so late with the reply. I got your email and reviewed the code. Just a few mistakes, but here’s the working version:

#include<gl\glaux.h>

void SetupRC()
{
glClearColor(0.0f,0.0f,1.0f,1.0f);
}

void CALLBACK ChangeSize(GLsizei w,GLsizei h)
{
GLfloat nRange=50.0f;
if (h==0)
h=1;
glViewport(0,0,w,h);

glMatrixMode(GL_PROJECTION);
glLoadIdentity();

if (w<= h)
glOrtho(-nRange,nRange, -nRangeh/w, nRangeh/w, -nRange,nRange);
else
glOrtho(-nRangew/h,nRangew/h, -nRange, nRange, -nRange,nRange);

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();
}

void CALLBACK RenderScene(void)
{