Fireworks Simulation

Hi! I’m planning to create a 3D fireworks simulation with OpenGL for a school project. I’m an absolute beginner to OpenGL, that’s why I would like to check on some premises before I start doing anything.

The major challenge will be the handling of the many tiny particles which emerge upon the burst of most pyrotechnic products.

a) Intuitively I would model the particles as bodyless light emitting objects. Is this idea suitable to OpenGL?

b) Poses the modelling of many (1000s of) objects specific problems in OpenGL?

c) Since I’m most experienced with Java, I’d like to program with the JOGL API. Does this implicate any important limitations?

d) There will be 180 hs of time available. Any chance?

Every hint is appreciated! Thanks a lot!

What you need is a particle system. I suggest you start with rendering points - place them at center of explosion and throw them in random directions. So you will need an array of positions and array of velocities and simulate this on CPU.
At first use just glBegin/glVertex/glEnd to draw your points but when you have it working then start using vertex arrays - it will be much faster.
When you’re done with points, you can replace them with small quads with a texture (a bright, glowy circle), and make these points leave a trial - every moving point will leave a copy of itself behind - that copy would fade away.
You don’t need any lighting for it - just quads with textures and alpha blending.

Great suggestions, thanks a lot. You have anticipated a lot of ideas. I think I have some starting point now.

One more question: Do you think it will be possible to render in real time on a not high-end system?

• AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 2.0GHZ
  • 512 MB RAM
  • ASUS Extreme AX800 graphic card with ATI Radeon X800 VPU (PCI-Express, 16 Lanes Native Support, 6 Vertex Shader Pipelines, OpenGL 1.5)

No performance problem for fireworks, unless you have too many particules :slight_smile:

I’m relieved. Thanks for comment.