PDA

View Full Version : Blending on none geforce cards ?



jonas
09-25-2000, 05:32 AM
Hi

I have made a little prog that has a water texture which I have made transparent using GLBLEND. On my geforce it works like a charm but in school the water texture isnt transparent. I dont know what gfx card they have in school but I guess it doenst have a 3d accelarator.

Has anyone else encounterd the same problem ? any solutions ?

Greets
/Jonas

Kilam Malik
09-25-2000, 06:03 AM
As blending works fine in openGL software mode I think there is a miserable GL-driver/GL-card in your school, e.g. ATI. They support only some openGL features (those to get Quake running). The others are badly or not implemented.

Kilam.

jonas
09-25-2000, 07:15 AM
okey. Thank you.

Gorg
09-25-2000, 08:52 AM
Kilam, you should have said Ati Rage Pro. The newer card Rage 128, Rage 128 pro, MAXX and the Radeon have all the blending mode.

Sjonny
09-26-2000, 01:46 AM
Cards with a Riva128 chip (like a Viper330) don't blend correct too.
try this:




glBlendFunc(GL_ONE, GL_ONE);


this sometimes works better for these cards. It's not the best blend mode, I know ... but hey, what ya gonna do about it? http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/wink.gif

John

jonas
09-26-2000, 05:06 AM
glBlendFunc(GL_ONE, GL_ONE);

Hmm okey I am gonna try that.