Rotation direction problem..

I’m trying to rotate 2 individual cubes independently. So far that works fine. I use glRotate to do this. I speciy my angle, and the point to rotate around. How do you dertermine “which” way the cube rotates?

I have:
//Cube2
glPushMatrix();
glRotatef(cubRot,-10,0,15);
glTranslatef(-10, 0, 15);
glutWireCube(2);
glPopMatrix();

This cube will rotate in 3d space excactly in place but it rotates in a “wild” fashion. Can you control whether it rotates top to bottom, left to right etc…? I’m really new at this stuff.

Thanx

I’m not sure i understood ur question but if u want to rotate step by step u’r cube u should increase or decrease u’r cubrot value.

For the question of top to bottom or left to right, it depend on the axes of the object.

If the base (XYZ) of the object is the same as the world one, if u want to rotate u’r cube from the left to the right u do:

//**** loop

glRotatef(Yangle, 0.f, 1.0f, 0.f);
Yangle++;

I’m not sure i answered you’r question, isn’t it?

Hope that will help

ace_man, i think the code you are writing is not correct:
//Cube2
glPushMatrix();
glutWireCube(2);
glPopMatrix();

the glRotatef command takes 4 parameters, the angle of rotation and the other three represent the axis you’re rotating your object on. If you want to rotate your cube on the Y -axis try doing glRotate(cubRot,0.0,1.0,0.0) -> rotate the cube by cubRot in the Y-axis. if cubRot is negative it will spin to the left, if it is positive it will spin to the right. remember that where you place the 1.0 is the correspondent to the axis you want to rotate. don’t forget to increment cubRot after!! if not your cube will just not move at all!

Remember:
glRotate(cubRot,1.0,0.0,0.0)->spin on the x-axis
glRotate(cubRot,0.0,1.0,0.0)->spin on the y-axis
glRotate(cubRot,0.0,0.0,1.0)->spin on the z-axis

glRotate(cubRot,1.0,1.0,0.0)->spin on the x/y diagonal
etc…

hope that helps

ace_man, i think the code you are writing is not correct:
//Cube2