rendering the framebuffer to a texture

how is this done when dealing with a resolution outside the bounds of powers of 2? i don’t have the greatest understanding of innerworkings of texture loading in the first place, but i can learn.

what i’d like to do is render the framebuffer, manipulate it, and then re-display it at the proper resolution without any loss of quality. i understand how to render to texture, but if there’s an easier/better way to manipulate the framebuffer without having to use textures at all, then i’d like to know. thanks.

seems like the answer is the accumulation buffer, which i should’ve remembered. i’ve never used it before, but i guess i would be able to do what i was planning. if anyone has any advice, or an answer to the first question, i would appreciate it.

accumulation buffer’s not going to work with my card, apparently. i get subzero frame rates. so if anyone can help…

What is it that you’re trying to do exactly? And what does the accumulation buffer have to do with it?

There’s no way to interact with the frame buffer directly, if that’s what you mean.

You’re probably going to need a combination of frame buffer objects (FBO) and pixel buffer objects (PBO) or glReadPixels to get efficient dynamic texturing and/or manipulation.

With optimization questions, the more specific you can be the better.

i just want to mess around. to experiment with motion blur, depth of field, and saturation effects. specifically, a bloom effect using blended, overlayed textures, if bloom is the right word here. i’ve read up on the accumulation buffer today, and was under the impression i could use it for each of these cases, especially along with convolution filters, but i don’t really know.

i did a test with the buffer tonight and ended up framerates practically in the negative, but my setup is very low end. i’m talking a 1 ghz pentium 3, a tnt2, 192mb ram, all running on the lovely windows ME.