PDA

View Full Version : Modeling



Talon
03-24-2000, 09:04 PM
What do you guys (or gals) use to create models?

dmy
03-25-2000, 02:55 AM
3Dstudio R4 and MAX.
to export models, i always use MAX .ASE files

Dolo/\/\ightY

Talon
03-26-2000, 07:56 PM
I'm looking for something inexpensive. Any suggestions?

wazoo69
09-28-2000, 06:38 PM
find a pirate.

HAARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!

grady
09-28-2000, 09:39 PM
When you make models with MAX, can you only make them to see how it looks or can you somehow save your drawing so OpenGL can use it?

Teofuzz
09-28-2000, 11:15 PM
Originally posted by grady:
When you make models with MAX, can you only make them to see how it looks or can you somehow save your drawing so OpenGL can use it?

I do my models with max & export them into 3ds files.
Then I can load objects in a display list reading the 3ds file format.
I did it in my old engine (completely soft) and now in my new engine with ogl with some adjustment. You can take a look of my old dos engine at wwwbbs.dei.unipd.it/fuzz (it's only in italian, sorry!)
The function that loads 3ds file is in the world.cc file and is called load3ds.
If you like to see the new version for ogl, mail me at teofuzz@inwind.it
Bye!

DFrey
09-29-2000, 05:27 AM
If you don't want to stoop to pirating, you can always take a look at Milkshape 3D, it has a free trial, and the full purchase price is very reasonable at only US $20.
It isn't as flexible or thorough as MAX but for $20, it is very very good.
There are also some free open source modelling projects but I'm failing to recall their names.

09-30-2000, 11:06 AM
http://www.blender.nl

(= more flexible than 3DS MAX and FREE http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif)

diligent
09-30-2000, 09:51 PM
I use 3ds max 3.1 for modeling and 3d exploration for exporting in c code.

Diligent.

Punchey
10-03-2000, 05:39 AM
Could someone explain models in C code to me? How do you store model information in C code and once you do, is there any way to change what models you're using without a recompile?