Full-Screen Mode + MFC + Vodoo3

Hi,
First of all I’d like to tell ya people that I’m new to Opengl Programming n’ don’t know a lot about it. So I’ll be needing a lot of help.
The problem is that whenever I use texture(s), my program runs “REALLY” slow. I have a Vodoo-3. I was told by someone (an OpenGL programmer) that Vodoo-3 doen’t support OpenGL in window mode. So I went for the “FULL SCREEN” mode. I have sucessfully created a fullscreen using the WS_POPUP style but still the problem exists. .
Whether this has got something to do with Vodoo-3 or my approach of creating a “FULL-SCREEN” mode… I don’t know?. So I really need some help.

EycEwinD

I’m not sure specifically about your problem, but I’m pretty sure the Voodoo 3 supports windowed modes. The Voodoo1/Voodoo2 didn’t, but everything after them did, I think. (I’m not certain about this, though. I switched from the Voodoo Banshee to a GeForce when I saw how ****ty the OpenGL support was for 3dfx cards.)

Voodoo 3 has several limitations like that the texture size can not be greater than 256 and the color depth has to be 16 bits. If you break any rule do I guess that you only get software OpenGL.

Well… actually I’ve tried to different textures. The texture I’m currently using is “32x32” 16-bit. The other one that I used was “128x128” 256 color. But in both of the cases my program was slow. However, I haven’t yet tried the “mipmaps” since I don’t know too much about them and also don’t know if it would be of any help. I also want to know if the “glSetup (ICD)” progmram will be of any help or not.

And lastly… Do any of you seriously suggest that I switch to any other 3D card?.. If yes then which card do you think will be a good choice (keeping in mind both price and performence).

Why not a new GeForce3 ?