Making and animating a person?

I’m very new at this so please bear with me. If an explanation is provided, I would really appreciate a dummy one, as I am really at THAT level.

I’d like to make a person out in opengl. After the person is made, I’d really like to make him walk or jump or something.

Is there an easy way of doing this?
What is involved in something like this?

Well, for one thing i hope you are not planning on setting up each and every one of your points for the mesh by hand. That would be pure hell.

Use a program like OpenFX or MilkShape (my personal fav…but OpenFX is free) to create the model and save it to a certain file format (.3ds, .md2, .md3, etc.) and you have to write code to load that model in.

As far as animation goes, you can insert key frames into the model files. So if you have 256 frames, frames 1-10 could be of the model walking. So when you have the user press the up arrow, you keep cycling through those key frames. It’s a lot like how you animate a character walking using paper and pencil. You drawn like 10 pictures. Each one is slightly different than the other and then you just flip through the pages really fast. And it looks like the picture is moving. Each one of those pages is a key-frame.

While we are at it, that is how rendering works. You draw the image and just keep flipping through it at a certain FPS (frames per second) to make it look like it’s moving.

Hope all this helped!!!

• Halcyon

Check out http://www.gametutorials.com there are some excellently commented code chunks available for use in that site. He’s got tutorials that cover everything from the C language to learning how to animate MD3 models, and more. I bot his CD (even tho you don’t have to) just so that I could pay for all of the good work this guy put into these tuts. Not only does he show you how to do that stuff, he also has tutorials on Octree culling, running Quake BSPs and more.

Depends on how detailed of a person you want.