easy to understand opengl engine anyone?

I am new to open gl I need an easy to understand opensource ogl engine… anyone got a favorite or something? thanks.

If you’re new to OpenGL, an “engine” is the last thing you need to look at. Check out http://nehe.gamedev.net/.

thanks, my main goal (btw) is to set up a glide to open gl & D3d and vice versa wrapper mainly for my favorite game Wulfram 2
based in Glide, idle for a few years… it’s being upgraded now but d3d wont be out for like a year as there is only one programmer writing it. awesome free game, www.wulfram.com come play, and get whooped up on :wink: btw it is a tank game, requiring strategic planning and linear yet 3d fighting styles. if anyone wants to help out that would be appreciated it… for there are no working glide wrappers out compatible with geforce cards, and most people have ge force 2s or +

Originally posted by Linked:
most people have ge force 2s or +

Oh, how I’d love to have a Geforce 2, 3 or even 4 in a few weeks…

Why is that?

well come in, isn’t it always the same? You buy a new system and then one or two years later it is totally outdated?
My Geforce256 is good enough, but a nice Geoforce4 would be nice…

Originally posted by elimin8tor:
well come in, isn’t it always the same? You buy a new system and then one or two years later it is totally outdated?

Ha!
if you buy a system, it is already outdated in the next month!!

many programmers forget very often that not everyone owns a high-end pc. :frowning:

As far as Glide -> OpenGL wrappers are concerned, there are already a hole load of them available (some even come with source).

You should have a look at:
www.glideunderground.com (in the files section)
www.voodoofiles.com

Hope that helps.