2D texture image on 3D object...how?

I am very new to OpenGL and 3D graphics programming but I have a task to use OpenGL to display a 3D textured shape defined by a wavefront OBJ definition file. I already have code that takes an internal model representation (populated from another input format) and uses this model to instruct OpenGL to render the object. Now I want to populate the internal model with data from OBJ.

I am currently stumped by the problem of applying textures to the object and realise I don’t understand some aspects of what I am doing.

At least one tool on the net draws my OBJ data correctly so I am confident that the input data is valid.

My OpenGL specific questions are:

1. The OBJ file defines vt (vertex texture co-ordinate) entries with 3 floating point values. All of the examples I can find on the net mention vt entries with only 2 values. Now my assumption is that these values need to be passed to the glTexCoordPointer() and this function can accept coordinates made up of 1,2,3 or 4 values. So…what would OpenGL do with or expect from 3 floating point values between 0 and 1 for each TexCoord?
    (I am guessing that because I am setting up a 2D texture I only need two of these data values…which two will depend on what OpenGL will do with them.

2. I see plenty of examples showing how to use a bitmap as a texture on a face and I assume in these examples that the entire bitmap is shrunk or stretched to fit over each flat surface that is rendered. However my input bitmap is a single 512x512 TGA file that contains all of the different textures for each side of the object tiled across the image. I am not sure what mechanism is used to ensure that the correct part of the image is applied to the correct side of the 3D object. This is similar to rendering a 6 sided dice using a single texture that contains images of all six different sides.