3DS models and OPENGL (again and again...., i'll stop after this)

If you want to use a 3DS file in your OpenGL Application look at www.retre.it/opengl

With a simply dll you can import a 3DS model with materials, texture, and Trianglestrip optmized.
For now no Animations and no IK…

Does anybody knows where can i find information about Anims, IKs and how they’re exported??

Thanks.

Im very new to opengl and 3-d graphics programming in general so forgive my ignorance if you will. Will this program also import 3d studio MAX (.max) files? If not I suppose I can export the .max to .3ds, but I was just wondering. Thanks for the help in advance.

Originally posted by doogal:
Im very new to opengl and 3-d graphics programming in general so forgive my ignorance if you will. Will this program also import 3d studio MAX (.max) files? If not I suppose I can export the .max to .3ds, but I was just wondering. Thanks for the help in advance.

My program will not import a .max file, but you can export it in a .3ds file and all will work out good.
I suggest you to use my dll.

What is an IK?

IK = Inverse Kinematics

b

OK, I am familiar with inverse kinematics. I guess I would argue that exporting IK has no meaning. Perhaps one would want to save the coordinates of bodies at intermediate steps of the process. How is this different from animation? Why would you want to do that?

Originally posted by EricK:

OK, I am familiar with inverse kinematics. I guess I would argue that exporting IK has no meaning. Perhaps one would want to save the coordinates of bodies at intermediate steps of the process. How is this different from animation? Why would you want to do that?

I’d like to import hierchies and animations.