I want to draw two objects then just move one of them.

Let’s say I want to draw two triangles. I draw them. Then I want to move just one of them around the screen while the other stays still. Also, I would like to rotate just one of them independently of the other. I know this has something to do with, excuse me for using DX terminology, world view and model view. Sorry I am still new to OpenGL and don’t know the names of the functions or properties. Can anyone clarify this for me?

A simple pseudo-code example …

struct MyScene
{
float x[2],y[2],z[2];
float rx[2],ry[2],rz[2];
float velocity[3];
float spinRate[3];
void init();
void timeUpdate(float t);
void render();
}

void MyScene::init()
{
memset(&(x[0]),0,2sizeof(float));
memset(&(y[0]),0,2
sizeof(float));
memset(&(z[0]),0,2sizeof(float));
memset(&(rx[0]),0,2
sizeof(float));
memset(&(ry[0]),0,2sizeof(float));
memset(&(rz[0]),0,2
sizeof(float));
velocity[0] = 1;
velocity[1] = 3;
velocity[2] = -1;
spinRate[0] = spinRate[1] = spinRate[2] = 3;
}

void MyScene::timeUpdate(float t)
{
x[1] += velocity[0]*t;
y[1] += velocity[1]*t;
z[1] += velocity[2]*t;

rx[1] += spinRate[0]*t;
ry[1] += spinRate[1]*t;
rz[1] += spinRate[2]*t;
}

void MyScene::render()
{
glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);

glPushMatrix();
glRotatef(rx[0],1,0,0);
glRotatef(ry[0],0,1,0);
glRotatef(rz[0],0,0,1);
glTranslatef(x[0],y[0],z[0]);
DrawObject1();
glPopMatrix();

glPushMatrix();
glRotatef(rx[1],1,0,0);
glRotatef(ry[1],0,1,0);
glRotatef(rz[1],0,0,1);
glTranslatef(x[1],y[1],z[1]);
DrawObject2();
glPopMatrix();
}

Hope that helps … dont have time to do more now …

thanks so much for your help

Hum… what DX terms did you use?
I think rotate, triangles are common to both.

But back to your question…

Just give each object a variable to hold is position and change only the one that is to move.

In the code would look something like this…

glPushMatrix(); // Store the current matrix, next changes to effect this object only.
glTranslatef(x,y,z)