Newbie ...would like guidance

Hello all,

I am looking for guidance with OpenGL.
First let me give a bit of background.

Languages I use: C/C++
Graphics programming experience:
In my early teens I tried to teach myself game programming in 68000 assembly on the ATARI ST platform. Unfortunately, I was trying to do this at the twilight of the Atari scene. I didn’t get very far as I was a programming novice at the time and great inventions like internet message boards, where one could get help, were not available.

In college I took a DirectX game programming series. First class was a 2D class and the 2nd was a 3D class. There wasn’t enough time to go too deep, but the classes did give us a small taste of graphics programming on modern machines using modern graphics cards.
I always planned to get back into it when I had time and when I tightened up my programming skills. I would like to produce elegant software designs for the graphics related programs I create , not a hodge podge of bad code that “just-works”. I would rather use clean design patterns, reusable code, etc.
Well, I think I am ready to start to slowly get back into it, but I don’t think I want to use DirectX. I want to be able to develop graphics applications in Linux and easily port them over to Windows and vice-versa.
I also didn’t really like the DirectX API.

So I guess the question is, where should I start as a beginner with OpenGL? I have seen several books advertised on this site, but I am not sure which ones are the best. Maybe a good Fat book to dive into, with step by step instruction is what I need. A good easy read.

Any recommendations would be appreciated.

Thanks for your time

The Red Book.

http://www.opengl.org/documentation/red_book/