PDA

View Full Version : Background...



CyBBe
03-09-2000, 04:13 AM
I'm a total newbie at opengl programming, I'm wondering how do I put a background in form of a bitmap, I'm using GLUT...

Le Bayonnais
03-15-2000, 07:10 AM
I'm trying to do the same thing...
A solution is to make a polygon and to put a texture on it...
If you find another solution could you let me know
Le Bayonnais

Bob
03-15-2000, 07:23 AM
Hello

True, the best way to make a background is to draw a large, textured polygon. Ok, maybe this is not the very best solution, but it's a great one, and easy too.

However, there is a function called glDrawPixels(), if you use it, you can skip the polygon, but it's extremely slow http://www.opengl.org/discussion_boards/ubb/smile.gif

I say, go for a polygon...

Bob