A great game hit a bottomless pit

Yeah I’ve been working on my space RTS game for a few months now. It’s been going very well.
But recently I hit a major obstacle which I find is a waste of time to hack at. It’s not worth the time.

Problem: selecting ships on the screen in 3d with a 2d mouse pointer, clicking and dragging.

I’ve already done tons of work on the engine. The engine works great and other aspects of the engine, moving ships in 3d, were shaping up well. But if I can’t knock selection down, I give up. I must have that.

If anyone is interesting in doing this part of the system I’m willing to give tons of credit to them.

I even have a half workable demo right now.

I don’t know what you use for occlusion culling, but using an octree could help you for that.

Just subdivide your space and make the smallest cube the size of your smallest ship.

When you set your view, you know exactly in what box is the view, so you could find the set of other boxes that are in front of you. If somebody clicks on the screen, you should easely be able to map to the first cube it is touching and trace a ray parallel to the view point and check every boxes until you find a ship at wich point you select it.

If the user drag, you just create a volume from the rays emiting from the 4 corner and select all the ship in the volume.

It’s a bit rough, I just though about it in like 5 minutes, but I think it is a good direction.

OpenGL has a function with does what you want (selects an object on which you cliked with the mouse). I don’t know it but my friend does.
Regarding writing your code I am trying to make an 3D RTS (kind of War3). We made the terrain, the skeletal animation and now we need an engine and the 3DStudio models (we have a designer also). Maybe we can exchange some code…

NewROmancer

Hi,