How do I start?

Hi, I’m pretty new to OpenGL/GLUT and stuff. So far I’ve made a few programs on a friend’s computer, but I’d like to make them on my computer.
I have a Windows XP Home PC. What do I need to download, where can I download it, and what directories do I place the files in?

Thanks a ton,

Andrew

I am new to this stuff too. I also have a windows XP (home) system. Opengl dlls were already on my system to start using. opengl32.dll, glu32.dll and glut32.dll were in my system32 folder. I use visual basic so cant help you with C/C++ - but vb didn’t need any includes or lib files. I just reference declares to the dlls directly and i am having a blast making stuff.

That all depends on what compiler you are going to use (Visual Studio, DevCPP, MinGW32, OpenWatcom, Delphi…)

Mikael

Rather than make a new topic I’ll post here, I hope the starter doesnt mind.

Ok, I just got the ATI RADEON SDK. I am totally new to OpenGL and wondering if some people would mind answering some questions.

I am using DevC++ as a compiler and I am fairly adept in C++.

1. Is C easier to use with OpenGL than C++? The two languages are so similar that I know that if I learn both I’ll end up getting majorly confused. I’m willing to switch now if you think that it’ll make learning OpenGL easier.

2. Any preferred compilers for openGL or is DevCpp good enough?

3. Could you please link me to some beginners tutorials? Free would be preferrable as I spent all my money on an ATI card so I could get a decent SDK (intel doesn’t have one to my knowledge). Once I get $20 I will get the OpenGL guide this site links to, I would just like to learn some in the meantime.

4. How high is the learning curve in openGL? I heard that it is one of the toughest languages to use, but how long would it take before I am able to make an object travel in a specific trajectory?

Sorry if some of the comments sound odd, please do not flame. Thanks in advance.