Terrain generation doable with cG

Hello you experts,

my idea is to implement a terrain generation engine on a modern graphics card (using the cG language resp. GL extensions), so that the (minimum) input at runtime is just Camera Pos&Orientation…

I have posted my ideas in a very brief
PDF (it’s just easier in pictures…):
www.nocke.de/master/MasterFeasibility.pdf

Some facts look encouraging (well, to me :slight_smile: but I am not so sure how to ‘crack’/abuse this stream-programming one-vertex-at-a-time scheme… although other solutions (i.e. for collision-detection must be doing it, too)

I am an intermediate OpenGL programmer and (obviously) still a beginner with cG/OpenGL extensions…

So, guys, what do you think? Is this doable in cG?

THANX A LOT FOR ALL FEEDBACK!!

Frank

I have thought about doing that too, when I found out about noise. I figured I could make a flying game that randomly generates different terrain for ever. Are you planning to use noise? I think the noise function might be too expensive for realtime evaluation at each vertex, even if you figured out exactly which vertices need to be rendered to the screen. unless of course the terrain is low poly, but with random generated terrain you will want to add detail since it’s so easy to.

I don’t know anything about CG, but it looks like the best way to do it to me.

If you download the Cg SDK from NVIDIA, website you’ll find a demo called “Procedural Terrain Demo”. Start looking at it.

Hi you two,

thanks for feedback. But my problem is not so much deforming some vertices based on noise, fractal noise or in any other form.

I want to genuinely place terrain piece after piece. With the above techniques I could make hills and valleys but not a lamppost or a flag or anything like that on a field…

cG can do so much. Ist there no way to trick out this one-vertex-at-a-time thing a bit more?

Frank :frowning:

Originally posted by Frank No: