is this a decent framerate?

Hi all,

I’m an OpenGL newbie and I was just wondering if the framerate of one of my demo’s is acceptable. It’s a field of piramids (used a display list), slowly rotating and moving towards the viewer. 2 static lights are used along with Sphere Environment Mapping (or something like that). The number of piramids is now set to 2025. With a resolution of 102476832 I get an average of 30fps on my system (700MHz Thunderbird, 128Mb RAM, GeForce256SDR).
I just wanna know if this is good or not. Nothing is optimized yet (no HSR or other newbie-killing code).
http://www.bartgreyson.be.tf
–> OpenGL Projects
–> Piramids.zip (last project)

Warning website far from finished and projects may be buggy (don’t press F1 when I use scissors

Thanks alot! Comments and suggestions are welcome!

If you want to increase the framerate,
write this:

void Init()
{
glDisable(GL_DEPTH);
}

void Draw()
{
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT);
}

I means: disable depth calculations in Init() and remove the ‘GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT’ in glClear().

This will greatly inprove the framerate but will not calculate the depth, that is which polygons to be drawn first, you’ll notice.

It is much faster to do your own depth calculation. You just need some vector and plane math. Do you want help on this?

Thanks for the tip!
If you want to help me with these vectors and planes, I would really appreciate this! As far as I understand I really need to know everything about these vectors before I can do something like clipping? Or like not drawing faces which are behind other faces (HSR?). Any help is welcome!

Thanks again

I don’t know how to avoid drawing triangles that are overlapped by other triangles, but I am working on it. That includes my depth calculations.

This might help: Imagine this:
If you draw a cube that has 6 polygons and the camera is looking at one cornor, so that 3 sides are visible, then the other 3 sides are not visible and does not have to be drawn.

Write this: