Frustration with drawing mesh

Hi,
I have been studying OpenGl for a while. I tried to draw a mesh on the screen for days. The mesh wasn’t ceated right no matter how much I tried.
Anyone out there can tell me why OpenGl is so hard to learn.

Well, the difficulty of OpenGL is bound to vary from person to person, so this question may be unanswerable. I myself have no difficulty at all with OpenGL itself. It is just a simple state machine. For me the hardest part is understanding 3D graphics in general.

I was a math student in college. I have no problem to understand how the 3D works. However, when I started the project two weeks ago, I just had very hard time to even draw a mesh on the screen. I feel so frustrated right now. I even don’t know how to continue my work next. I jst feel clueless.

Originally posted by DFrey:
Well, the difficulty of OpenGL is bound to vary from person to person, so this question may be unanswerable. I myself have no difficulty at all with OpenGL itself. It is just a simple state machine. For me the hardest part is understanding 3D graphics in general.

http://nehe.gamedev.net

This might help.

Thank you.
I already looked the site and learned a lot of useful info from the site.
However, when I turned to my project, it wasn’t working at all.
I was wondering if you can take a look my code and tell me what I did wrong.

Originally posted by kabir:
[b] http://nehe.gamedev.net

This might help.[/b]

What you should probably do first is describe the sytmptoms… so far all we know is that “it doesn’t work” and you’re frustrated. Not really enough info to help at all. Before you go posting loads of code just give a quick description of what you’re trying to accomplish and where it seems to be failing. This will often be enough to allow someone to make a helpful suggestion or two which might help lead you to the answer.

Thank you for your help again.