GL_LIGHT999

Hello everyone!

Just one probably absurd question:
Every OpenGL-beginner knows that there are obviously maximal 8 standard light sources, provided by OpenGL. To my mind using one or more of these light sources isn’t too difficult!

But, and now the question, what would i have to do if i liked to use more than these 8 standard light sources. Well, i just can’t believe this should be impossible. But unfortunately up to now i am not an expert in OpenGL!
So, would you, as the real experts, be so kind and help me?
What do i have to do? Where can i get more Info?

Thank you very much!

Greetings,
TS++

First, 8 is the minimum which must be supported, there are implementations with more (like 24).
For a software implementation it’s pretty simple, just increase your arrays and bitfields holding all the light’s state and loop over all those lights (that is, it should be pretty simple to change MESA to support almost arbitrary numbers of lights.
Hardware doesn’t have the luxury of adjustable state arrays, they have to live with the numbers of transistors which are on the chip.
On the other hand, programmable vertex pipes with subroutines and loops are about to solve this.

PS: Other than that, the current way to use more lights is to render multipass, or use only those 8 lights which contribute most to the nearby geometry dynamically. (There’s a demo about this floating around.), or encode lights in cubemaps in a preprocessing step.

[This message has been edited by Relic (edited 05-28-2003).]

@Relic:
Thank you for your help!

There’s just one more thing i’d like to know:
Concerning the topic ‘multiple lighting’ i have often read the words ‘projective texturing’. Would it be more advantageous to use this technic?
What do you think?

Thanks,
TS++

Pretty general question. Depends on how your lights are arranged and if they are static or dynamic.