OpenGL+hardware acceleration

i’m a real beginner and i would be pleased if anybody can write me how to make my OpenGL programs (in VC++6.0)
working with my hardware accelerator
(3DFX Voodoo 2)…
i mean what to add to my programs working now only with software renderer…

it would be great if anybody can send me any sorce code in VC++ using hardware acceleration (3DFX Voodoo 2)…

thanks in advance everybody can help me

maciek.

[This message has been edited by Maciek Sawitus (edited 09-28-2000).]

I’m a real beginner too!
It doesn’t matters if you have or not some specific card, at least to start writing code…
You only need opengl: if your card supports ogl, in your system 3d accel is already enabled. All you have to do is start writing: some interesting tutorials are in http://www.opengl.org/developers/code/tutorials.html
Good work!

Hi, I have been reliably shouted at by many people that on windoze you don’t need to do anything to get hardware acceleration, however I have seen evidence to the contary.
I don’t know much about how a PC does things, but on a Mac you use a nice piece of code called SetupGL (at www.apple.com/developer)..) It may be some use to you as an example of the sort of things you need to do, on the other hand, it may not.

Voodoo cards are slightly different from standard cars. They, at least the two first series, requires fullscreen environment to work properly. Dunno how this is done for Voodoo cards, but at leat you know you have to go fullscreen to get hardware acceleration.

Give it a proper pixelformat and you will get hardware acceleration. No need to do anything else, like initialize the card… on Windows at least.

Thank you teofuzz, tdavie and Bob for your replies.

but it’s not so simple…
i know i have to run everything in fullscreen mode…
but when i’m runnig any of, say Nehe’s demo it always uses my software renderer
called GDI Generic (Microsoft Corporation) instead of 3DFX Standalone OpenGL Driver as all games i play do…