How to import 3ds models for use in OpenGL

Hi,
I found a number of free 3ds models that I would like to use in a small OpenGL game I’m writing.

What are the various options available for doing this?

I’m a college student w/o much of a budget, so I can’t afford expensive 3D visualization programs.

I appreciate any help that you guys can offer.

Thanks!
Eric

Just look on the web for the file format definition.

Or I am sure someone somewhere as posted a 3ds loader.

I don’t directly load 3ds file. I have 3d studio max and I just export them to a .ASE wich is an ascii file of all info of the model.

It is very easy to make a loader from that because you have a file an the file format in front you!!

I am sure there is a free modeller on the web that can do that conversion.

Eric Chan: Forget .ASE ! I have a .3ds to .msh converter. Mail to igor@koolex.net, I´ll send it than…

I am just a beginner and see this question posted alot, I mean ALOT!. I, too, have 3D MAX and hope to try this soon myself. You would think that Kinetix, *discreet, etc. would have a definitive answer to this question. Or do they? Does anybody know?

What do you mean a definitive answer?

You just get the file format and read it. The only difficulty is understanding the file format.

yep, all those ficken CHUNKS, i hate them !

Odd no one mentioned this software, anyway here is the link: http://www.xdsoft.com/explorer/

Cheers,
Gepper

Hi!

I’ve heard about this 3D exploration before, and I just wonder which format should I convert the objects (.3DS) to??? So I can use them in my OpenGL game? Is it smart to convert them to .cpp? Wouldn’t it be smarter to import them with code???