buffer question? direction please :)

Hi There,
I was wondering if anyone has a link on Auxiliary buffers the red book mentions them but thats basically it. There is not alot a info on most other books i have read up on.
what im planning on doing is creating background scenes using an offscene buffer. Im planing to make a 3d scene engine that will make 2d images for mitmaps from 3d objects on demand. Im new to opengl but trying to learn much as i can before starting my project design. I really want this feature so i can generate higher volume of trees/rocks for a huge landscape. Im hoping this will keep fps up allowing a more full landscape. I know the AUXi means i can have a few buffers. but appears that it will be a chunk of memory the size of the screen. I would love to allocate video memory and hardware render to it on the fly, then keep the image and use as a textile. Any direction/info on this would be greatly appreciated.

Is the fastest method i have?
glReadPixels (0, 0, Width, Height, xxx,xxx, frameBuffer); i see ppl flame this often for being slow.

Caltus

[This message has been edited by Caltus (edited 07-15-2002).]

Hi,

I’ve not done this stuff for a while but…

If you change the write buffer with glDrawBuffer and render to it. You can then use glCopyTexImage2d or glCopyTexSubImage2D to copy all or a portion of the image in the GL_READ_BUFFER (set to the one you just rendered to using glReadBuffer) to a texture.

You’ll have to check in the red or blue book to see if I’m making sense. Others might have more ways.

Hope this is what your looking for.

[This message has been edited by thelamberto (edited 07-16-2002).]

The first hurdle here is that most implementations don’t support AUX buffers at all.
Do a glGetIntergerv(GL_AUX_BUFFERS, &nAuxBuffers); and you’ll get the number of supported auxiliary buffers.