Models/windows

I’ve looked everwhere for a free modeler, the only one i found that was decent for opengl was milkshape 3d, however it’s shareware and i don’t want to send $20 to switzerland. Anyone know where i can get a free 3D modeler that i can easily load into opengl? also, i’m trying to create multiple windows for opengl. i basically took the CreateGLWindow function and added a classname param, so i can create multiple windows by assigning different classnames. it works, however i cannot kill the second window properly and the first one created doesn’t re-paint. any ideas?

Anim8or:

(www.anim8or.com) a freeware modelling tool that creates 3D Studio MAX (3DS) meshes.

Display3DS:

(http://p-squared.com/Display3DS.zip) which reads and displays 3DS meshes.

Thanks, i already had the program on my computer, i didn’t know where the loader was. however, since i’m fairly new to opengl, i have no idea how to actually load the models into my program. which files do i need, (from the zip) and how do i load them (ie. pModel->LoadModel(“starship.3DS”;
pModel->PutModel(1.0f,0.0f,-2.0f) ???

Display3DS uses a sub-project called Mesh3DS to do the actual 3DS decode, position the viewport, execute the display list, etc.

There is a small help page at http://p-squared.com/Mesh3DS_Sample.html which may shed some light. Otherwise, Use The Source Luke!

Just a small correction: Display3DS instantiates the ‘Okudagram’ class (in honour of Michael Okuda - Technical Consultant on ST:TNG) which in turn instantiates the Mesh3DS class for mesh loading, etc.

Display3DS should be legible enough for anyone wishing to learn VC++/MFC and OpenGL programming. Here’s hoping anyway…

Happy Holidays,
/p2